Contest and Judges

 2017 Contests

Each year, three prizes of $1,000 each and publication in Sonora Review are awarded to a poem or group of poems, a short story, and an essay. We’d like to announce our judges for 2017.

Poetry Judge: Anselm Berrigan
Fiction Judge: Brian Evenson
Nonfiction Judge: Irina Dumitrescu

You may submit four to eight pages of poetry, up to 6,000 words of fiction, or an essay of up to 5,000 words with a $15 entry fee through submittable. The contest will be open for submission from February 1st to April 15th. All entries are considered for publication.


Anselm Berrigan‘s recent books of poetry include Come In Alone (Wave, 2016) and Primitive State (Edge, 2015). He is the editor of What Is Poetry? (Just kidding, I know you know): Interviews from the Poetry Project Newsletter 1983-2009, due this spring from Wave Books. He is the poetry editor for The Brooklyn Rail, a former Artistic Director of The Poetry Project at St. Mark’s Church, and Co-Chair, Writing at The Milton Avery Graduate School of the Arts. Degrets, a chapbook from an ongoing series of combine-like poems, is due out from Couch Press in Portland, OR.

Read our interview with him here.


Irina Dumitrescu is the editor of Rumba Under Fire: The Arts of Survival from West Point to Delhi (Punctum Books, 2016), a collection of essays and poems on the humanities in times of crisis. Her essays have appeared in The Atlantic, Yale Review, Southwest Review, Petits Propos Culinaires, The Washington Post, Longreads, and Zócalo Public Square, among others. Honours include a nomination for the James Beard Foundation’s MFK Fisher Distinguished Writing Award, a McGinnis-Ritchie Award for nonfiction, and inclusion in Best American Essays 2016. In her spare time, she teaches medieval literature at the University of Bonn.

Essay Daily published our interview with Irina here.

Evenson photo (1)

Brian Evenson is the author of a dozen books of fiction, most recently the story collection A Collapse of Horses and the novella The Warren. He has also recently published Windeye and Immobility, both of which were finalists for a Shirley Jackson Award. His novel Last Days won the American Library Association’s award for Best Horror Novel of 2009. His novel The Open Curtain was a finalist for an Edgar Award and an International Horror Guild Award. He is the recipient of three O. Henry Prizes as well as an NEA fellowship. His work has been translated into French, Italian, Greek, Spanish, Japanese, Persian, Turkish, Czech, and Slovenian. He lives in Los Angeles and teaches in the Critical Studies Program at CalArts.

Former Contest Winners


Sonora Review 2016 Essay Prize (judged by Elena Passarello): (winner) Danielle Zaccagnino (1st runner-up) LaTanya McQueen (2nd runner-up) Clinton Peters

Sonora Review 2016 Fiction Prize (judged by Molly Antopol): (winner) Sean Gill (1st runner-up) Laura Legge (2nd runner-up) Jess Arndt

Sonora Review 2016 Poetry Prize (judged by Mathias Svalina): (winner) Renia White (1st runner-up) Jennifer Givhan (2nd runner-up) Mary Block


Sonora Review 2015 Essay Prize (judged by Amy Leach): (1st) Kimberly Burwick (finalists) Rachel May, Samantha Deal, Bryce Emley, Misha Rai, Matthew Weinkam, Landon Houle, Kimberly Burwick, Katharine Monger.

Sonora Review 2015 Fiction Prize (judged by Stuart Dybek): (1st) Angela Corbett (finalists)  Barbara Ganley, Stephanie Carpenter, Michael Pearce, Raul Palma, Elise Winn, Cassandra Powers, Sam Martone, Joshua Garfinkel

Sonora Review 2015 Poetry Prize (judged by Rusty Morrison): (1st) Safiya Sinclair (finalists) Erin Miller, Emily Skaja, Katie Willingham, Felicia Zamora, Liz Robbins, Khaty Xiong


Sonora Review 2014 Essay Prize (judged by Jenny Boully): (1st) Corey Zeller (2nd) Shaelyn Smith (3rd) Julie Marie Wade & Denise Duhamel

Sonora Review 2014 Poetry Prize (judged by Eduardo Corral): (1st) Justin Carter (2nd) Michael Luis Dauro (3rd) Jess Poli

Sonora Review 2014 Fiction Prize (judged by Matt Bell): (1st) Rebeca Ladrón de Guevara (2nd) Niloo E. Sarabi (3rd) Chelsea Werner-Jatzke


Sonora Review 2013 Essay Prize (judged by Dinty W. Moore): (1st) Harrison Candelaria Fletcher (2nd) Lia Woodall (3rd) Kelly Clancy

Sonora Review 2013 Short-Fiction Prize (judged by Ben Marcus): (1st) Michael Fidel Marquez (2nd) JoeAnn Hart (3rd) Lucas Church

22 thoughts on “Contest and Judges

  1. Pingback: Sonora Review Poetry Contest Submissions Now Open! | s [r] blog

  2. Pingback: Join Sonora Review, Book Fair & Off-Site Event, AWP Seattle 2014 | Sonora Review

  3. Pingback: Super Duper #AWP14 Post, CNF Contest Open! | Sonora Review

  4. Pingback: Sonora Wants Essays, Nonfiction, and Hybrids | BREVITY's Nonfiction Blog

  5. Pingback: Bulletin Board | The Authors Guild

  6. Pingback: Bulletin Board | The Authors Guild

    • Hi Tracy! Sure, we’ll consider excerpts for the contest, as long as they’re part of a larger work that’s previously unpublished. Thanks for checking!

  7. Pingback: Matt Bell on Eco-Fabulism | Sonora Review

  8. Pingback: My Writing Process Blog Tour | Julie Hill Barton

  9. Pingback: The Masters Review | Ten Literary Magazines and Contests with Deadlines in May

  10. Pingback: 5.11.2015 Daily Links | Daily Links & News

    • Hi Ali,
      We do accept simultaneous subs! Please state that the sub is simultaneous in your cover letter.

  11. Pingback: May Competitions | The Write Group

  12. Pingback: On the Radar – April Edition | becomenzando

  13. Pingback: Matt Bell on Eco-Fabulism | Sonora Review

  14. Pingback: An Interview with Anselm Berrigan | Sonora Review

  15. Pingback: Calls for Submissions April 2017 - The Authors Guild

Leave a Reply to lauraimiller Cancel reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s