Contest and Judges


***UPDATE: 2016 contest winners have been announced!*** 

Each year, three prizes of $1,000 each and publication in Sonora Review are awarded to a poem or group of poems, a short story, and an essay. We’d like to announce our judges for 2016.

Poetry Judge: Mathias Svalina
Fiction Judge: Molly Antopol
Nonfiction Judge: Elena Passarello

Submit four to eight pages of poetry, a short story of up to 6,000 words, or an essay of up to 6,000 words with a $15 entry fee. The contest will be open for submission from February 1st to May 1st (extended deadline: May 7th!). All entries are considered for publication.

We prefer online submissions (through Submittable), but if necessary send print submissions (with accompanying $15 check, no cash) to:
Sonora Review, Annual Contests, English Department, University of Arizona, Tucson, AZ 85721.

Former Contest Winners


Sonora Review 2015 Essay Prize (judged by Amy Leach): (1st) Kimberly Burwick (finalists) Rachel May, Samantha Deal, Bryce Emley, Misha Rai, Matthew Weinkam, Landon Houle, Kimberly Burwick, Katharine Monger.

Sonora Review 2015 Fiction Prize (judged by Stuart Dybek): (1st) Angela Corbett (finalists)  Barbara Ganley, Stephanie Carpenter, Michael Pearce, Raul Palma, Elise Winn, Cassandra Powers, Sam Martone, Joshua Garfinkel

Sonora Review 2015 Poetry Prize (judged by Rusty Morrison): (1st) Safiya Sinclair (finalists) Erin Miller, Emily Skaja, Katie Willingham, Felicia Zamora, Liz Robbins, Khaty Xiong


Sonora Review 2014 Essay Prize (judged by Jenny Boully): (1st) Corey Zeller (2nd) Shaelyn Smith (3rd) Julie Marie Wade & Denise Duhamel

Sonora Review 2014 Poetry Prize (judged by Eduardo Corral): (1st) Justin Carter (2nd) Michael Luis Dauro (3rd) Jess Poli

Sonora Review 2014 Fiction Prize (judged by Matt Bell): (1st) Rebeca Ladrón de Guevara (2nd) Niloo E. Sarabi (3rd) Chelsea Werner-Jatzke


Sonora Review 2013 Essay Prize (judged by Dinty W. Moore): (1st) Harrison Candelaria Fletcher (2nd) Lia Woodall (3rd) Kelly Clancy

Sonora Review 2013 Short-Fiction Prize (judged by Ben Marcus): (1st) Michael Fidel Marquez (2nd) JoeAnn Hart (3rd) Lucas Church

12 thoughts on “Contest and Judges

  1. Pingback: Sonora Review Poetry Contest Submissions Now Open! | s [r] blog

  2. Pingback: Join Sonora Review, Book Fair & Off-Site Event, AWP Seattle 2014 | Sonora Review

  3. Pingback: Super Duper #AWP14 Post, CNF Contest Open! | Sonora Review

  4. Pingback: Sonora Wants Essays, Nonfiction, and Hybrids | BREVITY's Nonfiction Blog

  5. Pingback: Bulletin Board | The Authors Guild

  6. Pingback: Bulletin Board | The Authors Guild

    • Hi Tracy! Sure, we’ll consider excerpts for the contest, as long as they’re part of a larger work that’s previously unpublished. Thanks for checking!

  7. Pingback: Matt Bell on Eco-Fabulism | Sonora Review

  8. Pingback: My Writing Process Blog Tour | Julie Hill Barton

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s